IMakeCuteStuff.com – the blog

all about the cute stuff

Craft Shows can be fun! (It’s the prep that kills me…) October 30, 2007

<yawn>! Oh. My. Goodness. I really did have a great show at the “Fall Thing” in Phinney Ridge! I sold a few Tote2Go!s and even some jewelry that I managed to dig out of the depths of my backstock drawers. I had forgotten how different retails shows are from wholesale trade shows!

The customers, for instance. At a trade show, they are really obviously “looking to buy” the next best thing on the market. They scan and stop only if something truly catches their eye. When they do stop, they usually want to hear all about your work so they can decide if it’s right for their store.

At a craft show, I’d say a good portion of the shoppers are crafters too — so when they stop to look, they’re sometimes just checking out the craftsmanship and/or the price point. (That’s all cool with me. To be honest, I do it too) And the other people are really just taking some time out of their weekend hoping to find that perfect holiday gift a little earlier this year…knowing full well that they may just find themselves at Target on Christmas Eve. Augh!

Personally, I’d really like to give and get a 100% handmade holiday this year. In retrospect, relying on big-box retailers has created more stress than it’s worth — running here, there and everywhere trying to find the store with the right item at the right price…then trying to find the right gift wrap and card and…oh my. I’m getting stressed out just thinking of it.

Wouldn’t it be great to know that by purchasing something from an artist and/or an artist-friendly boutique you’d be supporting small businesses and making an immediate difference in the life of an artist? Heck ya. That’s a Happy Holiday in my book!

Etsy.com has created a website dedicated to this concept…check it out and take the pledge to Buy Handmade this holiday! Yay!

buyhandmade.org

 

2 Responses to “Craft Shows can be fun! (It’s the prep that kills me…)”

  1. Shells Says:

    Your perspective about the fairs is interesting as I have just started a little stall here in New Zealand.
    I would also love to commit myself to buying 100% handmade – its a great ethos!
    Shells

  2. I found your blog and checked out your things. They are very cute. I did a blog today about gift baskets and added your info to the comments to check your out as I love to support handmade products (esp when they are CUTE)!
    Debbie aka The Real World Martha


Comments are closed.