IMakeCuteStuff.com – the blog

all about the cute stuff

How Etsy is Renewing My Faith in Valentine’s Day… January 28, 2008

So I’m a little Etsy-obsessed. I admit it. I stay up until all hours of the night, reading articles, shopping, checking out the numerous ways to find things, shopping, checking my shop, checking out other people’s shops, shopping …oh, and sometimes I actually sell stuff! How awesome is that?!

The stuff that’s been selling lately? It being Valentine’s Day…my Secret Promise Rings, of course. Every now and then, I get a “convo” (inter-Etsy email) from someone who wants to know if I can create a ring for their loved one with some super-special sentiment stamped inside. I love hearing the stories about how sneaky they had to be to get the right ring size!

The promise rings I’ve created for people range anywhere from the simply sweet (You Are My Sunshine), to the my current challenge of including an “æ” with my all-uppercase letter stamps to complete an Icelandic phrase and then fitting it and a date into a teeny-tiny size 4.5 ring. Yeah. I had no idea what that symbol was, so I had to Google it (of course)! I’ll save you some trouble — here’s the Wikipedia link: Æ (minuscule: æ) is a grapheme formed from the letters a and e.

Romance is truly in the air and I’m thankful to be a small part of such celebrations of the heart…Love Rules.

Secret Promise Rings — available at imakecutestuff.etsy.com

Secret Promise Rings available on imakecutestuff.etsy.com

 

5 Responses to “How Etsy is Renewing My Faith in Valentine’s Day…”

  1. paperseed Says:

    These rings are lovely.

  2. katy Says:

    cool idea! great post!

  3. Trina Says:

    Marlo, can you make them flat, too? It sounds like the perfect item for my Anniversary I-Spy pillow I’m working on for my hubby.

  4. Dawn Says:

    Oh wow, a language still uses the crazy ae character? I had to learn how to write it, I think when I was taking Old English… it’s actually a pretty letter, handwritten in lowercase. :)

  5. Anandi Says:

    What gorgeous rings, and packaging and photos!!

    Your ae issue reminds me of something we ran into at work, when we realized our database would yak when it got Spanish accented characters. (We fixed it).


Comments are closed.