IMakeCuteStuff.com – the blog

all about the cute stuff

A day in the life of a Hail-man… April 19, 2008

Filed under: craft shows,crafts,creative,etsy,etsyrain,handmade,selling — imakecutestuff.com @ 12:31 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

What’s a “Hail-man”?? Well…it’s like a snowman…but…well. You can figure it out from there, right?

Don’t ask me why I’m still awake. It could be all the sugar I just ate…who knows. I should be sleeping, since I spent all day in Renton (WA) doing my first OUTdoor show in a LOT of years…(my last outdoor show was sometime before 1997…in S. California…where rain pretty much stops everyone from going out.) and it was an experience and a half!

Wow. What a show. I was next to Beth and across from Meghan with Rosalie/Doug and Laura (sharing a booth) just down a few booths [edit: OMG. I completely forgot to mention that Halina was just a few booths away as well! Sorry Halina!]. The drive there was so rainy…but it let up just a little bit – just enough to give everyone hope for setting up.

Luckily, I had (wonderful) P with me, so I was very very lucky. Beth and Meghan were all by themselves. We all helped each other get the canopies set up (Yay for EZ-up canopies) and eventually got a break from the rain when the show opened at noon.

A few people here and there. But LOTS of weather all day long! As Meghan so accurately put it, “We’re going to see every form of precipitation possible today!” And she was right. Rain. No rain. Pellet-sized hailstones. No rain. Drizzle. No drizzle. Pea-sized hailstones. No rain. Rain with sunshine. No rain. Rain with no sunshine. Then…pea-sized hailstones coming down hard enough for Paul to make this:

SmRentonSnowman

Aww…isn’t he CUTE??
Oh, and I guess I’ll mention that P spent most of the rest of the day caring for the little guy
…putting his nose and arms back in whenever they fell out…what a sweetie.

Then…More rain. LOTS more rain. Oh, and did I mention that it kept getting colder? I actually brought a propane tank and a heater thingy to use…but forgot my wrench, so it wasn’t safe to light it. <le sigh> As Doug mentioned, “It’s probably worse that you HAVE a heater but can’t use it!” Yep. It was. Thanks Doug. :P

Finally, show management took pity on us and let us start packing up an hour early just after the rain stopped for a moment. Luckily, we all helped each other get packed up as quickly as possible and we all got out of there before the rain started again! Phew!

I personally sold a couple of things, but I’m not sure how others fared. I was in good spirits, but it was a tough crowd. Made tougher with all the puddles of water. Good thing this was a super cheap show to do.

The best thing about the show for me (besides having so many awesome EtsyRain neighbors!) was that the show management (Arts Unlimited of Renton) was super-awesome. Very caring and helpful. Great people to do shows with…highly recommended to anyone considering doing some shows in Renton, WA :)

Now all my Tote2Go! Double Shoppers are hanging in my apartment drying out and waiting to be photographed so I can put more of them in the shop. Always so much to do…

 

6 Responses to “A day in the life of a Hail-man…”

  1. cherylz Says:

    marlo……… that’s awful. how weird. but 3 cheers for indoor shows! hey, it’s seattle!

  2. Trina Says:

    Well, I’m glad you sold something! I’ve done cold, rainy shows before, and they can be miserable. Stay dry today!

  3. Norm Says:

    Isn’t P a sweetie – not just because of Hail Man, but because he came to the show with you! What is up with this Seattle weather? Good thing you can make fun out of anything Marlo!

  4. kayce Says:

    Yes, it does sound like the husband was right (I probably won’t tell him that in those words :)). I am sorry I missed sharing the experience with everyone… but SO glad all my things are still dry and now, ready for the awesome PSIA Show in Edmonds!

    You guys were troopers! I’m in awe!

  5. Beth Says:

    Oh man! I was so cold at the end that I couldn’t get my fingers to work taking the tent down! It was my first outdoor show by myself so I looked at it as a great rehearsal for the rest of the summer.

  6. julia Says:

    Wow! That sounds like it even topped the one Meghan and I were at last Fall. Raining and on the “road side” of the show leaving us in a mist all day.
    I’m so sorry for you guys. And to think it was in the 70’s just 1 week earlier. Great attitude you have tho. Love your snow-boy!


Comments are closed.